Fall Faculty Assembly is Aug. 23

This post was originally published on this site

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos (Daniel Dubois/Vanderbilt)

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos will discuss his vision for the upcoming academic year and present several of the university’s highest honors to faculty at the fall assembly on Aug. 23.

The annual gathering is scheduled to begin at 4:10 p.m. in the Student Life Center ballroom.

Welcoming remarks will be provided by Faculty Senate Chair Victoria Greene, Stevenson Professor of Physics.

Blair School of Music faculty Carolyn Huebl, professor of violin, and Ji Hye Jung, associate professor of percussion, will perform Astor Piazzolla’s “Histoire du Tango” as part of the assembly. A jazz ensemble comprised of Blair faculty will provide music before the event.

Zeppos will present the Earl Sutherland Prize for Achievement in Research, the Thomas Jefferson Award, the Chancellor’s Award for Research, the Chancellor’s Award for Research on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion and The Chancellor’s Cup. He also will recognize professors celebrating 25 years of service to the university.

A reception will be held immediately following the assembly in the Student Life Center Board of Trust Room.