Register for Native Hawaiian place of learning Pīkoʻokoʻo Conference

This post was originally published on this site

Taro growing

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa will host the inaugural Pīkoʻokoʻo Conference, which will highlight UH Mānoa’s continual journey in becoming a Native Hawaiian place of learning. The conference will be held on Friday and Saturday, October 5 and 6, at the Hawaiʻi Imin International Conference Center adjacent to the UH Mānoa campus. Registration is free for students and $25 for everyone else and closes Monday, October 1.

Pīkoʻokoʻo is aimed to gather students, staff, faculty, administration and community members to celebrate, connect and learn from one another to make the university the best it can be.

The conference is largely sponsored by Vice Chancellor for Research Michael Bruno’s Strategic Investment Initiative.

“The Pīkoʻokoʻo Conference is a very important step in our journey to truly become a Hawaiian place of learning, a journey that is not nearly complete,” said Bruno. “We have much to learn from those who have come before us and from each other. More importantly, we have much to teach the world.”

Conference highlights

Friday, October 5:

Saturday, October 6:

  • Plenary panel with community leaders and their reflections of UH Mānoa’s work to become a Native Hawaiian place of learning
  • Hawaiian geography and Campus “Untold History” Tour
  • Workshops and presentations throughout the day
  • Closing dinner (no additional cost)

The dinner will honor the members of the 1986 Kaʻū Report, the first report that began to make recommendations for how the UH System could better support Native Hawaiian students, staff, faculty, environment and the community. Those members include:

Isabelle Abbot, Ilei Beniamina, Kekuni Blaisdell, Lilikalā Kameʻeleihiwa, Lucy Gay, Pua Hopkins, Kauanoe Kamanā, Edward Kanahele, Pualani Kanahele, Larry Kimura, Davianna McGregor, Edith McKinzie, Richard Mossman, Midge Oler, Abraham Piʻianāiʻa, David Sing, Haunani-Kay Trask and Ilima Williams.

Other supporters of the 1986 Kaʻū Report include: Gladys Brandt, Al Simone, Anthony Marsella, Joyce Tsunoda, Edward Kormondy, Amy Agbayani, David Takeuchi and Kiyoshi Ikeda.

For more information and to register, please visit the Pīkoʻokoʻo Conference website.

Author: Admin