2019-20 Lilly Fellows for Teaching Excellence Announced

This post was originally published on this site

The Institute for Teaching Excellence & Faculty Development (TEFD) has announced the selection of the 2019-20 Lilly Fellows for Teaching Excellence.

The eight fellows are:

  • Madelaine Bartlett, biology
  • Mary Ellen Burke, nursing
  • Sara Jackson, languages, literatures and cultures
  • Hans Mentzen, chemistry
  • Scott Monroe, educational policy, research and administration
  • Kara Peterman, civil and environmental engineering
  • Malcolm Sen, English
  • Kathryne Young, sociology

Established in 1986, the Lilly Fellowship for Teaching Excellence has fostered leadership in teaching by training over 235 faculty members, many of whom have gone on to win Distinguished Teaching Awards and College Outstanding Teaching Awards, chair departments and serve in leadership positions across campus. During their fellowship year, participants attend bi-weekly seminars on teaching pedagogy, develop a new course or substantially redesign an existing one, assess their teaching and their students’ learning through classroom visits, work with mentors to anticipate many of the challenges and rewards of faculty life at UMass Amherst and design a teaching-focused workshop or program to share the benefits of the Lilly Fellowship with colleagues. 

For more information about TEFD and the Lilly Fellowship, contact Brian Baldi at 413-545-1225.