Dartmouth Announces Team Awards

This post was originally published on this site

By: Rick Bender

HANOVER, N.H. — The Dartmouth ski team gathered last week at its end-of-year banquet to reflect on its fourth-place finish at the NCAA Championship in March and hand out the team awards for each discipline while naming the team captains for the 2019-20 season.

The Martha Rockwell Award, given to the top female skiers — alpine and Nordic — went to senior Alexa Dlouhy and junior Stephanie Currie (who shared the alpine honor), and sophomore Katharine Ogden. On the men’s side, the award is named the Norwegian Trophy, which was bestowed upon senior Callan Deline for Nordic skiing, while junior Tanguy Nef and sophomore Drew Duffy shared the alpine honor.

The complete list of awards bestowed at the banquet are listed below.

Martha Rockwell Award — Given in honor of Martha Rockwell, Dartmouth’s women cross country coach from 1979-1987, to the cross country and alpine woman who, in the estimation of the coaches, has performed the best throughout the season.
Alpine: Alexa Dlouhy and Stephanie Currie
Cross Country: Katharine Ogden

Norwegian Trophy — Given to the Dartmouth team by former Dartmouth skiers Per Coucheron ’68, Hans Preben Mehren ’68 and Erik Sunde ’69, this award is bestowed annually to the alpine and cross country man who in the estimation of the coaches has performed the best throughout the season.
Alpine: Tanguy Nef, Drew Duffy
Cross Country: Callan Deline

Earl Jette Award — Given annually in each discipline to the skiers who, in the opinion of the coaches, have made the most significant improvement during the course of the season.
Men’s Alpine: Jimmy Krupka
Men’s Cross Country: Koby Gordon
Women’s Alpine: Ellie Curtis
Women’s Cross Country: Leah Brams

Pam Merrill Award — Selected by the coaches of the two female disciplines and awarded to the most outstanding cross country and alpine first-year woman.
Alpine: Tricia Mangan
Cross Country: Molly Gellert

Cooke Award — Originally the First Year Skimeister Award, this award was established in 1956 in memory of Donald J. Cooke ’57, a former ski team manager who passed away in 1955. Since 1974, the Skimeister title is no longer competed for, so the award is now presented annually by the coaches to the most outstanding cross country and alpine first-year man.
Alpine: Jimmy Krupka
Cross Country: Luc Golin

Torin Tucker Award — Formerly the Development Team Award, the Torin Tucker Award is given annually to honor the memory of Torin Tucker ’15 and to recognize someone whose energy and commitment generates excitement amongst the team and motivates everyone to continue to improve.
Mikaela O’Brien and Fedor Myagkov

The Maggie Cup — Established in 2007 on the retirement of Maggie Sullivan to recognize her years of dedicated service as the ski team’s administrative assistant. The award will be given periodically by the ski team coaches to honor a ski team supporter whose dedication, generosity of spirit, contribution of time and talent, and love of the sport, exemplify the values and tradition of the Dartmouth ski team.
Spencer Brown, Dartmouth’s Holekamp Family Director of Strength & Conditioning

Spirit of Skiing Award — Established in 1991 and is given annually to the female alpine or cross country skier who in the estimation of her teammates has contributed to the excellence of the Dartmouth ski team, embodying a passion for the sport and motivating her teammates to reach for new heights. The trophy and antique pewter bowl were donated in 1996 by the grandmother of Laura Turner ’98.
Tricia Mangan and Lydia Blanchet

Schniebs-McCrillis Award — Originally given to Dartmouth’s best four-event skier in the college championships in honor of Otto Schniebs and John McCrillis. Due to increased specialization the Skimeister title is no longer awarded. Since 1974, with the endorsement of John McCrillis, this award has been presented annually to the alpine or cross country man who in the estimation of his teammates best embodies Otto Schniebs’ maxim that “Skiing is a Way of Life.”
Adam Glueck

Class of 1978 Inspirational Award — Given annually to the upperclass woman who, in the estimation of her teammates, has unselfishly given the most to the women’s ski team in terms of her dedication to the team and her promotion of team spirit and sportsmanship, while maintaining a healthy balance between intercollegiate skiing and a broader Dartmouth experience.
Emily Hyde

Gebhardt Award — Established in memory of Robert Gebhardt a member of Dartmouth’s 1958 NCAA Championship Team, who was killed in a boating accident in 1968. It is given annually to the man who in the opinion of his teammates and coaches has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship, loyalty to Dartmouth and the team, and hard work both in skiing and academics.
Kipling Weisel

Captains for 2019-20
Women’s Alpine: Claire Thomas
Women’s Cross Country: Leah Brams and Lauren Jortberg
Men’s Alpine: Drew Duffy
Men’s Cross Country: None

Print Friendly Version