Track & Field Presents 2018-19 Team Awards

This post was originally published on this site

By: Pat Salvas

HANOVER, N.H. – The Dartmouth track & field teams handed out team awards earlier this month at the annual year-end banquet.
Several awards and certificates were handed out over the course of the event to members of both the men’s and women’s teams for performances during both the indoor and outdoor seasons.
The Everett L. Palmer Track Prize is given annually to the male athlete who contributed most to the track program during the year as determined by the coaching staff. This year, the award was presented to senior Ben Ose who was an Ivy League champion as well as the lone remaining student-athlete still participating this season as he will compete in the decathlon at the NCAA Championship meet in Texas.
The Excellence Award is presented to the student-athlete on the women’s team deemed the most valuable. While the men’s award went to a four-year veteran of the team, the Excellence Award will be shared this season between juniors Cha’Mia Rothwell and Julia Valenti. Both won Heps titles in their respective events (100m hurdles and pole vault) during the outdoor campaign and were tremendous throughout both seasons of competition.
The Nathan D. Bugbee 1925 Memorial Track Prize is presented each year to one individual on each of the men’s and women’s track squads who, according to fellow team members, best exemplifies the characteristics of good team sportsmanship, spirit, camaraderie, and overall dedication to the sport and who demonstrates respect for team members, opponents and officials. This year’s recipients were seniors Parker Johnson and Maria Garman.
Senior Reed Horton was presented with the Leon E. Lovejoy Track Prize, which is given each season to the member of the team who, in the opinion of the departmental administrators and the coaches, has done the most in sportsmanship and competition to uphold the interest of Dartmouth College.
The Herb Chase Track Award is presented to the members of the team who, in the opinion of the coaching staff, have made the greatest improvement in his or her event through hard work, self-discipline and enthusiasm for the sport. This year saw three women honored and a pair of men. Junior Claire Dougherty, sophomore Caroline Walter and freshman Breanna Glover were recognized on the women’s team, while the men’s team recipients were junior Cole Andrus and sophomore Max Frye.
The Paul S. Harmon ’13 Trophy is a program-specific honor that is given to the member of the senior class who is a distance or cross country runner and who, in the opinion of the track coach and Director of Athletics, has shown the greatest improvement in track athletics during his college career. For his efforts over the course of his four-year career, this year’s recipient was Quinn Cooney, who had been injured early on in his career, but returned to running to add depth and tenacity to the Big Green.
The Carl Wallin Coach’s Award was given to four individuals who demonstrated to the coaching staff, teammates and officials the intangibles required to excel in his or her event. The two winners on the women’s side were senior Olivia Lantz and sophomore Camille Landon, while senior Alec Eschholz and freshman Myles Schreck were tabbed from the men’s team.
The night was also used as a platform to announce team captains for the 2019-20 seasons. The women will be led by Rothwell, Dougherty and Lauren Sapone. Frye, Ethan Ruh and Timothy Zepf will serve as the team leaders for the men.
Other awards were given to those members of the Big Green who claimed individual championship titles at either indoor or outdoor Heps as well as the national championship meet. Those student-athletes were:
Cha’Mia Rothwell – 60m Hurdles (Indoor Heps), 100m Hurdles (Outdoor Heps)
Julia Valenti – Pole Vault (Indoor Heps, New England Championship)
Caroline Walter – 400m (New England Championship)

Ben Ose – Decathlon (Outdoor Heps)
Max Frye – 400m Hurdles (Outdoor Heps)
Henry Raymond — 1500m (Outdoor Heps)
Marco Pompilj — 3000m Steeplechase (Outdoor Heps)
Outstanding Achievement recognition was also given to any member of the teams that set a new Dartmouth program record in an event over the course of the year:
Donovan Spearman — 200m (21.11)

Print Friendly Version