Estrada Named a Semifinalist for Campbell Trophy

This post was originally published on this site

By: Rick Bender

HANOVER, N.H. — Dartmouth wide receiver Drew Estrada has been named as one of the record 199 semifinalists for the 2020 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes the top football scholar-athlete in the nation. The 199 players chosen by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) come from all levels of college football, both NCAA and NAIA, with 85 coming from the FBS and 45 more from the FCS, including one from six of the eight Ivy League schools.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists in November, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 60th NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. Later this year, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 31st Campbell Trophy, having his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000 and receiving his own 25-pound-bronze version of the iconic statue.

Estrada, a fifth-year senior from Argyle, Texas, entered his senior year with a 3.44 GPA while majoring in sociology modified with economics. Named to the All-Ivy League Second Team at both wide receiver and return specialist last year as well as the FCS Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team, he currently is in the top 15 at Dartmouth in career receptions (110, 12th), all-purpose yards (2,392, 14th) and receiving yards (1,418, 15th). Estrada twice was named an Ivy League Player of the Week in 2019, once for offense the other for special teams, as he led the league and ranked 13th in the FCS in all-purpose yards per game (137.1). He also finished second in the conference in touchdown catches (8) and fourth in receiving yards per game (82.7), helping Dartmouth earn a share of the Ancient Eight title for a league-record 19th time.

Estrada is an active member of the community as well, mentoring fourth-grade students at Mount Lebanon Elementary, participating in Pen Pals through which he exchanges letters with elementary school students across the Upper Valley, and volunteering at Special Olympics and the Children’s Hospital at Dartmouth (CHaD) events.

Named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the Campbell Trophy has been prominently displayed inside its official home at the New York Athletic Club since 2013, and the winner is honored each year during a special luncheon at the venue. This year’s postgraduate scholarships will push the program’s all-time distribution to more than $11.9 million.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

Six Dartmouth players have been chosen as finalists for the NFF Scholar-Athlete Class — Alan Rozycki (1960), Willie Bogan (1970), Fred Radke (1972), Pat Sullivan (1976), Paul Sorensen (1988) and Josh Bloom (1994).

Print Friendly Version