UConn Pharmacy Faculty/Students Honored at Connecticut Pharmacists Association Awards

This post was originally published on this site

On September 24, 2020 the Connecticut Pharmacists Association (CPA) held its 144th annual Awards Banquet. Due to the pandemic, the event was held online with the incoming CPA president and UConn School of Pharmacy faculty member, Marissa Salvo as Master of Ceremonies. It was an outstanding night for the UConn School of Pharmacy with both students and faculty recognized with awards and scholarships.

Marissa Salvo CPA Awards Photo

President-Elect for the CPA:

Marissa Salvo, Pharm.D., BCAP, FCPA, Associate Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice, was chosen as incoming President-Elect. As noted, Salvo was also Master of Ceremonies at the virtual banquet. This will be Salvo’s seventh year working on the Board of the CPA.

Fellow of the CPA:

Tom Buckley, Pharm.D., Associate Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice, was inducted as a Fellow of the Connecticut Pharmacists Association.


Peter Tyczkowski ’78, RPh, MBA, retiring CPA treasurer and past CPA president was recognized for his years of service to the organization. Tyczkowski is currently president of the UConn Pharmacy Alumni Association.

Pharmacy Student Scholarship Awards:

Heather Honor (Pharm.D. ’21) received the Gerald H. Weitzman Memorial Scholarship
Maria Latta (Pharm.D. ’22) received the Murray Abraman Memorial Scholarship
Christine Pan (Pharm.D. ’22) received the Henry A. Palmer Scholarship
Ming Zhang (Pharm.D. ’22) received the Margherita Giuliano Scholarship

Faculty Achievement Awards:

Richard Don, BA, Science,  Professional Pharmacy Performance
Jennifer Girotto, Pharm.D., BCPPS, BCIDP Marghie Giuiano Award
Nathaniel Rickels Pharm.D., Ph.D., BCPP Usher-Smith Excellence in Innovation Award

You can view the recording of the virtual ceremony at this link. Congratulations to all!

Author: Admin